• ca_awd2016_corpsitebanner_935x300_v2
  • Morningstar® Awards™ Canada Methodology 
  • Morningstar Manager of the Year Methodology
    Morningstar fund analysts choose Manager of the Year awards in three categories: Domestic equity, foreign equity, and fixed income. Winners will not only have been successful in the most recent period, but over the long haul.

    Each fund analyst is responsible for nominating potential contenders in each of the groups. Nominees must meet the following criteria:

    • Management's fund assignment should have been given a positive rating (Gold, Silver, or Bronze) by Morningstar's fund research team
    • Strong performance in the current calendar year and prior 12-month period
    • Excellent risk-adjusted long-term performance
    • History of unit holder-friendly behaviour

    Analysts also consider managers' co-investment levels, the strength and risks of their process, and the quality of their investment decision making. They look at factors such as fund capacity to gauge the likelihood of a nominee repeating their past success.

    Morningstar's fund research team serves as the jury for this award. Analysts share the rationale for their nominations with the group. The group ensures each nominee is thoroughly vetted and meets the standard for the award.
© 2017 Morningstar. All rights reserved.